Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

B.S. in Actuarial Science

Otterbein University Course Catalogs

2010-2011 Undergraduate Catalog 
    May 31, 2020  
2010-2011 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]



Otterbein College Board of Trustees

Top ^


Chairman of the Board: Thomas C. Morrison
Vice Chairman: William L. Evans
Vice Chairman: John T. Huston
Secretary: Peggy Ruhlin
Assistant Secretary: William Edward Harrell
President of the College: Kathy A. Krendl
Vice President for Business Affairs: Rebecca Vazquez-Skillings

Class of 2011

William E. Harrell CEO, Columbus Urban League, Columbus, Ohio
Nicholas A. Hill Professor, Department of Art, Otterbein University
John T. Huston ‘57, Preventive Cardiology, McConnell Heart Health Center, Columbus, Ohio
Joseph Ignat

’65, Managing Director, Blackburn Consultants, Inc., Denver Colorado

Al Waterhouse ‘82, Executive Vice President & CFO, Advanced Medical Optics, Santa Ana, California

Class of 2012

John W. Magaw ‘57, Domestic and International Security Consultant, Washington D.C.
Thomas C. Morrison ‘63, Attorney, Manatt, Phelps and Phillips, LLP, New York, New York
Annie Upper ‘86, Founder and Owner, Gentle Wind Books and Gifts, Gahanna, Ohio

Class of 2013

Troy Burton Student, Otterbein University
John E, King ‘68 Vice President, Perot Systems Corp, Reston, Virginia
Peggy M. Ruhlin ‘81, Principal, Budros, Ruhlin & Roe, Inc., Columbus, Ohio
Barbara Schaffner Professor, Department of Nursing, Otterbein University

Class of 2014

Larry Brown ‘80 Pastor, Powell United Methodist Church, Powell, Ohio
William L. Evans ‘56, Director of Information Management (retired), Battelle Memorial Institute, Columbus, Ohio
Mary F. Hall ‘64, Associate Professor, Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts
Cheryl Herbert

President, Dublin Methodist Hospital, Dublin, Ohio

Chelsea Jenney Student, Otterbein University
Christopher Kaiser ‘77, COO, OSU Surgery, LLC, Columbus, Ohio
Kent Stuckey

‘79, Chairman and CEO, Internet Transactions Solutions (ITS), Columbus Ohio

Alec Wrightman Partner, Baker Hostetler, Columbus, Ohio

Class of 2016

Mark R. Thresher ‘78, President and COO, Nationwide Financial Services, Columbus, Ohio

Emeriti Trustees

Harold F. Augspurger ‘41, Dentist, Dayton, Ohio
Thomas R. Bromeley Chairman and CEO, Top Line Corp. & Allegheny Bradford Corp., Bradford, Pennsylvania
Michael H. Cochran ‘66, Attorney, Columbus, Ohio
Judith Gebhart Educator, Dayton, Ohio
Erwin Kerr Pastor, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
William E. LeMay ’48, Partner, Waytek Corporation, Franklin, Ohio
Jane W. Oman H ‘96, Civic Leader, Columbus, Ohio
Paul S. Reiner ’68, President, Oakland Nursery/Acorn Farms, Columbus, Ohio
Edwin L. Roush ‘47, President/Owner, Roush Companies (retired), Westerville, Ohio
Wolfgang R. Schmitt ‘66, CEO, Trends 2 Innovation, Wooster, Ohio


President of the College

Kathy A. Krendl, 2009 -
B.A., Lawrence University
M.A., Ohio State University
Ph.D., University of Michigan

Vice Presidents of the College

Abíódún Gòkè-Paríolá, 2006-
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs/Professor of English

Robert M. Gatti, 1978-
Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Rebecca Vazquez-Skillings, 2010-
Vice President for Business Affairs

Thomas H. Stein, 1992-
Vice President for Enrollment

Heidi Tracy 2009-
Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Department Chairs

Top ^

Amy E. Johnson

Business, Accounting and Economics
Don E. Eskew

Chemistry and Biochemistry
Jerry A. Jenkins

Susan P. Millsap

Susan Constable

Suzanne Ashworth

Equine Science
Bruce G. Mandeville

Foreign Languages
Martha Z. Gallegos 

Health and Sport Sciences
Joan E. Rocks

History and Political Science
Richard Yntema

Integrative Studies
Sarah Fatherly

Life and Earth Sciences
Halard Lescinsky

Mathematical Sciences
Pete Sanderson

Craig R. Johnson

Barbara H. Schaffner

Physics and Astronomy
David G. Robertson

Michele Acker

Religion and Philosophy
Andrew P. Mills

Heidi R. Ballard

Theatre and Dance
John Stefano
  Top ^

Program Directors

Academic Honors Program
Cynthia Laurie-Rose

Academic Support Center
Ellen Kasulis

Environmental Studies Program
Kevin Svitana

Senior Year Experience
Denise Shively

Women’s Studies
Tammy Birk

Top ^